Buying a Home with Golf Cart in Destin or Walton County, Florida? How to Register Your Low Speed Vehicle

You are buying a house in Miramar Beach, 30A, or Destin, Florida, and it comes with a golf cart – or does it?  I just sold two houses in Walton County that included “golf carts”.  However, one of them was really a “low speed vehicle” (LSV). What’s the difference?

In Florida, a golf cart is designed for use on a golf course or for personal use. A golf cart cannot go over 20 mph. New legislation will require the driver of a golf cart on public roads to be at least 16 years old with a driver’s license, or 15 with a learner’s permit.

A low speed vehicle, on the other hand, is different in that it can go 20-25 mph, and has Federal safety requirements.  Some of those safety requirements are:

  1. Headlamps
  2. Stop lamps
  3. Turn signals
  4. Tail lamps
  5. Reflex reflectors
  6. Parking brakes
  7. Rearview mirrors
  8. Wind shield
  9. Seat belts
  10. Vehicle identification number

In Florida, anyone driving a low speed vehicle (LSV) must have a valid driver’s license. The vehicle must also have Personal Injury Protection (minimum $10,000) and Property Damage Liability (minimum $10,000) issued from a Florida licensed insurer.  Low speed vehicles may only be driven on public streets where the posted speed limit is 35 mph or less. Golf carts may be converted to low speed vehicles if Federal safety requirements are met and registration is completed.  Golf carts may have different local safety requirements, and do not need to be covered by insurance (you can still insure them on your homeowner’s policy). Golf carts may only be driven, per Florida statutes, by someone 14 years or older, on golf-cart designated roads, with speed limits of 30 mph or less.

To register a low speed vehicle that was included in your new home purchase in Walton County or Okaloosa County, you must get the title signed by the seller, a Bill of Sale, proof of insurance, pay appropriate fees and provide documentation to the local tax collector.  You can complete the daunting six-page packet to register your low speed vehicle here.

Here is a summary of resources if you are buying a home with a golf cart or low speed vehicle in Okaloosa or Walton County, Florida:

“Your Guide to Drive Florida -Low Speed Vehicle, Golf Cart, Off-Highway Vehicle”

“How to Register Your Low Speed Vehicle in Florida” and other motor vehicles

Video Guide to Golf Carts or LSVs from the State of Florida

Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle Guide to Low Speed Vehicles

It’s Wendy… It’s Sold!

Wendy Rulnick, Broker, Rulnick Realty, Inc.
Call 850-259-0422
Email Wendy: [email protected]

Wendy Rulnick, Broker, lists and sells real estate in Destin, Santa Rosa Beach, 30A, Miramar Beach, Crestview, Sandestin, Seaside, Rosemary Beach, Inlet Beach, Freeport, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, Niceville, Bluewater Bay, Navarre, Florida.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *